Bishop Tong's Curriculum vitae

Bishop Tong's recent photo

Public statement by Bishop Tong

Response of the Diocese

This Press Release

Media enquiry: Catherine Wong 93801701, Paul To 93681291, Dominic Yung 91225952

The Pope appoints Bishop John Tong Hon as Coadjutor Bishop of Hong Kong

The Holy See announces on 30 th January 2008, Pope Benedict XVI has appointed Bishop John Tong Hon as Coadjutor Bishop of Hong Kong, with immediate effect.

According to Canon Law, the Coadjutor Bishop of a diocese enjoys the right of succession. This means Bishop John Tong would automatically become the successor to Cardinal Joseph Zen Ze-Kiun, the current Bishop of Hong Kong, once the latter goes into formal retirement.

Bishop John Tong has issued a statement in response to the appointment (cf. attachment). He says he accepts the appointment in a spirit of obedience, and, at the same time, he urges Cardinal Zen to stay in office, the longer the better, to lead the Diocese of Hong Kong.

 

Bishop Tong indicates that over the years the workload of the Diocese of Hong Kong has increased. Also, it is more than necessary for the Diocese to play its role as a Bridge Church to China.

Bishop John Tong was born in Hong Kong. He holds a Doctorate in Theology from the Pontifical Urbanian University, Rome, and a Master's degree in Philosophy from the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He has been Vicar General since 1992. He was appointed Auxiliary Bishop of Hong Kong in 1996. His ministry focuses on the formation of clergy, studies on the Church of China, pastoral services to migrant workers, and communication and media apostolate of the Diocese of Hong Kong.

To celebrate the event, a Eucharistic con-celebration will be held at the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception, Caine Road, on Sunday, 10 February 2008, at 3:00 pm, with Cardinal Joseph Zen presiding.

湯漢主教之履歷

湯漢主教回應委任之公開信

湯漢主教近照

香港教區之回應

本新聞稿

新聞查詢 :


教宗委任湯漢主教為香港教區助理主教

梵蒂岡 教廷於 2008年1月30日宣佈:教宗本篤十六世已委任湯漢主教為香港教區助理主教,即時生效。

按天主教教律,教區之助理主教享有繼承權。這表示,若現任教區主教陳日君樞機離任,湯漢主教將自動成為下一任香港教區主教。

對此任命,湯漢主教親筆回應個人感受(詳見另文):他表示 本著聽命精神接受教宗委任,同時盼望陳日君樞機繼續留任,領導香港教區,愈長久愈好。

湯主教指出:近年教區事務日益繁重,對中國擔當的橋樑角色亦日形需要。

湯主教生於香港,擁有香港中文大學哲學碩士、羅馬宗座傳信大學神學博士等學銜;自 1992年起出任香港教區副主教、1996年晉升為輔理主教;任內專責神職人員之培育、研究中國教會、照顧教區內外籍教友、並領導天主教傳播事務。

香港教區將於本年 2月10日(主日、農曆年初四)下午3時在堅道聖母無原罪主教座堂,舉行湯漢主教就任助理主教祈福共祭彌撒,由陳日君樞機主禮。